Limping

I’ve been limping through most of May.

Not physically,  you understand. I didn’t hurt my leg or sprain my ankle. I’m fine.

I’m simply limping toward the end of school. You know what I mean, right?

I’m done and fed up and uninspired. And if they don’t eat their lunches, I don’t even care. Here, have a cracker and some grapes.

While all this is going on I was hoping to finish up prepping the garden for the inevitable landscaping we must get done. This did not happen because we have had rain and flooding. Well, the flooding isn’t affecting us this year as we had the foresight to waterproof our basement last summer, so I’m counting my lucky stars. But the relentless rain is starting to get on my nerves.

I just hope the crumbling retaining wall at the back of the garden manages to stay upright long enough till we nail down a date to get that fixed.

In the meantime, I’m limping around the kitchen trying to keep myself inspired to cook delicious meals everyone will eat at 4:30 or 9 pm, depending on who has what game or practice scheduled. Despite rain, we’ve had other activities for which one must chauffeur people to and fro. And apparently, they still want to eat.

One thing that we’ve run out of is frittata. This has saved my mornings during the last spring hockey tournament and even some school mornings. I made three all together during a slow Saturday and froze the portions. A quick reheat in the oven (or microwave even) and everyone had protein for breakfast.

This is my plan for today. Make more frittatas and freeze them in portions.

Recipe inspiration came from the Pioneer Woman.

Leave a Reply

