#AmWriting and entering contests

Today was the second time ever that I have submitted to a writing contest.

The first time I did it was not a particularly positive experience because I was incredibly nervous, for one thing. Another thing was a nagging feeling that would not leave me that I did not successfully adhere to the topic of the contest. I mean, I thought I did at first, but after the results came in, and I read over the winners (which was not me) I understood better why I had this nagging feeling all along. I didn’t seem to truly understand what was expected of me.

No matter though. I look back at my experience and say: move forward.

Which I did.

For the second contest, the one I submitted to today, I wrote a story in a voice similar to the one I am writing in my memoir/personal narrative. I took an experience and wrote it out, pleased how easily the voice from my book came back to me.

Even if I don’t win anything, or get passed over completely, entering contests is an exercise to keep my writing, to keep me practicing, to keep me focused. In a way, it’s energizing, even though sometimes I am crippled with fear.

But today, I did it. I paid my little fee, I submitted my document, and I even made a couple of notes in my calendar when to expect to see some sort of result.

It’s exciting, and nerve-wracking, but I’m pleased to note that this time around, it was easier.

For all who have supported me in my new endeavor (you know who you are!), thank you.

#AmWriting

One thought on “#AmWriting and entering contests

  1. This is fabulous news – I’m so thrilled for you! I also find entering contests to be fun and a great way to get me to actually WRITE SOMETHING. Good for you for getting out there – and good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

