What goes up, must come down

My mom used to say “I don’t want to begin the New Year with Christmas in the house”.

Christmas tree

Maybe she said it, maybe not, point is, I remember the New Year being Christmas-free. And honestly, I kinda like it that way.

Theoretically, the tree should really stay up till January 6th. The exchange of presents should happen then, not on the 24th or 25th of December.

But they invented a Coca Cola drinking Santa Claus with a red-nosed reindeer who arrives with store-bought presents requiring store-bought batteries which get placed under Christmas trees at midnight on December 24th going into December 25th.

Our traditions have blended somewhat since the arrival of kids, but one thing has remained the same for me:  I have limits for how long I can handle Christmas in the house.

Don’t get me wrong, our Christmas tree is attractive, and live, and pretty and sparkly. I enjoyed it for the three weeks it’s been up. It smells nice, it gives a lovely glow when the lights are turned on, I love the handmade ornaments the children created at school and at home, mixed in with the old, generational organments of relatives long passed on.

It’s lovely to look at, for a time.

But now, I am no longer watering it.

Although I’m not ready for the routine to return just yet, I am ready for Christmas to be out of the house.

The tree was up long enough, now it must come down.

Next dilemma: who will help take it down?

🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

