I’m no amateur hockey mom, but then this happened…

I’ve been a hockey mom since my oldest, now 11, was 5.

That’s a lot of years at the rink. And since we joined competitive, that time has only increased.

What I’m saying is, I’m not an amateur when it comes to schlepping kids to the rink.

Yet, here we are are the end of summer, it’s a gazillion degrees outside, and I lug my kid to the rink without my jacket.

Luckily, the facility is modern, and there are sheltered (not cold) areas to sit and watch (if one so desires) and the only reason I did stay and watch is because my boy asked me to “stay just for a bit, please? ok mom?”.

Of course I’ll stay for a bit.

Walking to the dressing room was pretty far. It was cold. But the dressing room was warm, and not yet too smelly. Wait till after practices, or games, that’s when things get much more, um, fragrant… That’s what happens when you have pre-teen boys who play hockey. I grin and bear it and hope he gets dressed fast so I can help with tying the skates and head up to the warm observer’s area.

He’s dillydallying a bit, goofing with the boy next to him.

“Ready for the skates?” I say to my boy. Once he’s got those on, he can dress the rest of himself, himself.

By the time I tie the second skate, he says he’s not comfortable.

“Too tight? Not tight enough? What?” I want to know. We tried on the skates just last week, all the equipment, to make sure stuff fits.

“My ankle hurts”, he says.

This is the first I hear of it. Last night, his legs were sore, which was not surprising after a three hour skate. He hasn’t been on the ice for 8 weeks, I expected some discomfort. He mentioned his shins, he didn’t mention anything about the ankle.

“What do you want to do?” I ask him. “Can you skate?”

“I need padding”, he says.

His dad’s the trainer for the team, but he’s not here, and it’s not a team thing, it’s camp, so the first aid stuff isn’t with us today. The camp coordinators have access to first aid things, but he doesn’t want to make a fuss.

I offer to tape his ankle over his sock on his foot. I dig through his bag to get a roll of tape.

No tape.

Because, we’re amateurs here….right?

No jacket, no tape. What’s next?   🙂

Lordy.

“I thought you checked your bag this morning”, I say, and he said he did. But of course it’s my fault because I switched the old (ripped, stinky) bag to the new bag and sorted out all the icky tape too. The tape was in the basket next to the bag. Didn’t occur to anyone to put tape back in the bag.

Someone else has tape, and I tape up his ankle. It feels better, he puts his skate back on, I tie him tight, he’s fine, he’s off to join the others.

Ok.

hockey camp

On my way to the warm, sheltered area, I realize he didn’t bring his water bottle out and while I contemplate going back into the dressing room to get it for him (or let him figure it out, himself), a kid comes off the ice and complains his skate isn’t tied properly. No other parents are around our immediate area, the coaches are on the ice.

“Sit here, I’ll fix it for you”, I say to him.

Finally he’s back on the ice too and I can escape the cold.

Note to self: check for tape, buy new tape if necessary, and keep a jacket in the van. Because…

Hockey Season has Arrived!

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’m no amateur hockey mom, but then this happened…

  1. Glad to know that these things happen to the best of us. We always forget the water bottle at home so I’ve taken to keeping a spare in the bag at all times.

    Like

    • Oh yes, the water bottle. Argh. 🙂 I hear you. For non-hockey activities I have sometimes stopped after one reminder and let them suffer the consequences of having no water to help them ‘learn’ to be more responsible (gymnastics, she can take a trip to the water fountain by the bathroom, or marshal arts, same deal). But for hockey I can’t quite be so strict…you know what it’s like out there on the ice. Last thing we need is a kid suffering from dehydration. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

