Irksomeness, and then a pleasant surprise

Many irksome things are happening in my world today. Heck, the whole week has been a big fat write-off if you ask me. Can’t be the weekend soon enough.

Oh wait. Weekends aren’t exactly a break, either.

Sigh.

I could share my issues here for the internet to see, or I can take a lesson of mindful thinking, focusing on the positives. Not the easiest thing in the world to do, what with all the negative self-talk happening inside my head. My brain at this time of year is full of clutter and debris, and it takes real focus to stay on track.

But some developments have had a positive vibe. Not all is lost in hopelessness and stress, just yet.

For instance, the new couch is coming! Soon, I think, maybe next week. And summer vacation is just a couple of weeks away! No More Lunches! And the garage renovation is about to begin…oh wait. That part is the irksomeness I’m trying to forget about for a few hours…

Then a strange thing happened to me, which made me uncover a fantastic and very pleasant surprise. While purging basement clutter, I came across a box full of frames, pictures and drawings. One of the frames was old and falling apart and it had a weird looking picture in it, a portrait of some sort, like a painting in a museum. It reminded me of my grandmother, I believe the picture was hers and she must have given it to me. I’ve had this frame forever, but it really was old and falling apart, so I chucked it into the garbage bag.

Something made me take it out again. I took the picture out from behind the glass, and turned it over to see if it was labeled, or dated. It wasn’t, it was simply a page from a magazine that for whatever reason my grandmother liked, and placed in the frame. But what I found behind that magazine page was priceless! It was a picture of my very young grandfather, or at least I thought it was him.

Giovanni Taled

I immediately took a picture of it with my phone and texted it to my mom. Is this your father? I wanted to know. Yes! she said. A very young one!!

She had no idea this picture existed. (Well, neither did I.)

I will have to find a new frame for this photograph, the old one is destroyed.

And all the irksomeness is washing away…

 

One thought on “Irksomeness, and then a pleasant surprise

  1. This is so cool! I have some old photos here of my grandparents and great-grandparents and sometimes people ask me why I bother to hang them up – but I think they are fascinating. Don’t you wonder what he was thinking as he sat for this very formal portrait? Don’t you wonder if there was a special occasion involved? Did he have any idea where his life would lead? FASCINATING. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

