Real hunger

No one who blogs, or reads blogs, has likely ever experienced the kind of hunger that I’m talking about. Hunger that only comes from not having access to food. At all.

I think about this every day almost. Even if I had no food and no money to buy food right now, I could still scrounge pretty much every parking lot, garbage can and food court tray with bits of food (I know, GROSS) if real hunger was an issue.

I’m only writing about this because two things came to my mind today on the way home from a million errands that took longer than I had anticipated.

While I was driving around I noticed it was after 11 and my stomach starts making noises. Every time I drove past a fast food joint, I start to salivate at the promise of salty fries. You know that feeling, right? I really need some fries and what’s to stop me from accessing this drive-through right now?

Instead, I decided to feel the hunger.

Even though I was distracted and physically aware that I really needed to eat, and soon, the so-called hunger pangs were not anywhere near those who have no food, no access to food, and no promise of food. People who are truly hungry are refugees, those still living in war-torn countries, people suffering from environmental disasters…just turn the tv on. It’ll show you examples all day.

Hunger, and the lack of food, is even mentioned a few times during the apocalyptic television show “The Walking Dead”. Remember when baby Judith was screaming and all Rick had was a few acorns, before he force fed Aaron’s apple sauce first to him, then to his baby?

That’s real hunger, even though it’s only on tv.

These were my thoughts as I drove, and drove, to accomplish my errands. Without food, without purchasing snacks, without stopping for fries.

I have food at home, I told myself. It’s home made, and good for you, and doesn’t cost any more money.

I wanted to feel what it was like to have an empty, hungry tummy.

Why was I so hungry anyway? Oh, yes, I remember now. I ate half a piece of toast for breakfast. That’s hardly enough to sustain me on my morning journey. But….there must have been a reason why I didn’t have time to eat breakfast.

Another thing came to mind. My well-fed children are always SOOO hungry when they get out of school.

“Did you bring a snack?” is always the first thing they say to me at pick up. And I did. I would bring them a cookie, or an apple, which most of the time was devoured happily. But as they got older, and more opinionated, I stopped bringing snacks all together.

“I don’t like that type of cookie”, or “I don’t feel like apple” are not comments from people who experience real hunger. And if my children could choose to not eat something they claim they don’t like or feel like eating, well, then, their so-called hunger isn’t really hunger, is it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

