Gripe-day

Here’s a thing that I shake my head at on a regular basis:

Construction workers on residential roads.

You know the types. They show up to replace water mains, or pave someone’s driveway, or fix a stretch of sidewalk. The men (it’s mostly men I see) get there nice and early with their gigantic trucks and park along the residential street in order to unload their equipment or gravel.

I get that they have a lot of work to get done in a relatively short amount of time. I get that it’s a temporary inconvenience for the residents on that particular street. I get that in some cases, the work has to stop due to some unforeseen weather circumstance.

What I don’t get is why they look so annoyed when you walk or drive by them during that high-traffic drop off at school time. Particularly if the work they’re doing is on the same street as a school.

This happened to me [again] this morning. I’m driving my kid along a residential street which also allows for parking with permit on the one side of the street. Since it’s garbage pickup day, the sidewalk is cluttered with huge recycling bins making it tough for the people pushing strollers to walk on the sidewalk. Some are therefore walking on the street, moving in and out of the middle of the street to go around parked cars. So here I’m driving along at snail pace, watching for not only oncoming traffic, but also for kids, adults, strollers, and dog walkers with their dogs on extendaleashes. Add to that the gigantic trucks parked along the top end of the road where access to the school yard happens to be, and I found myself exchanging looks with some very surly men who were not impressed I dared to pick this exact time to drive by their work area.

Sorry guys. I know you’re on a schedule, but this is a STREET WITH A SCHOOL ON IT and it’s a school day. What do you want me to do? I didn’t know you were going to be here today…

Should they, or their construction bosses, not know instinctively that between 8 and 9 am their work area will be saturated with people and cars, and plan ahead accordingly? Or at least accept that this is going to be a temporary inconvenience to deal with? Do they HAVE to give me a dirty look when I try to maneuver by them and their pile of gravel?

Franky, I would plan my breakfast coffee break around that time.

*****

On the same road to my 10yo’s school there was a dead squirrel. The squirrel was probably run over on Tuesday, and as we drove by that same spot Ben remarked whether we would see the squirrel there again today. I said “oh someone probably picked it up and disposed of it”.

Uh…nope.

Poor squirrel was squished flat, and its guts were exposed.

This puts me off. Just a couple of days ago we had a dead raccoon on our street. As we drove away I made a mental note to grab a garbage bag and removed it after I returned home. Once I got home I noticed someone had covered it with a piece of plastic. By the time I had my garbage bags ready, it was gone. Someone had beat me to it.

The squirrel though is still there, several days after it died its tragic death. What I don’t get is why the few houses within spitting distance simply leave it there to rot. Is it really that much effort to take a couple of thick plastic bags, and a shovel, and remove it off the street, particularly if you live on the street?

Poor squirrel.

*****

Leave a Reply

